December 14, 2009

Godiva Liqueur Lovers Warned of Potential Mix-Ups

Brooklyn NY…A bottle of Godiva Liqueur was the object of commotion this past Shabbat in a catering hall as several participants in a Chanukah “kiddush” noticed that the bottle featured an OU-D. This was problematic since several of the dishes at the event were made with or included meat and the liqueur included dairy as an ingredient. The fact is that Godiva has discontinued the pareve Godiva Liqueur or the Godiva Liqueur Original and replaced it with Godiva Chocolate Liqueur, which bears the OU-D. The old product still in circulation remains pareve. Kashrus agencies and Web sites that post kashrus alerts have made note of the change but the new version will be missing at many a kosher table, including many catering establishments that used to offer the pareve version. Consumers are advised to check the label names very carefully. Godiva Caramel Liqueur, Mocha Liqueur, and White Chocolate Liqueur are certified kosher, but also contain dairy. Kashrus observers note that the dairy is not Cholov Yisroel and thus should be off limits to those who drink only Cholov Yisroel.